wk 5 -artist conversation- kristi jenson

 

Exhibition Information

Artist: Kristi Jenson
Exhibition: Fuse
Media: Steel, Copper, Mixed-Media, Installation
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East
Website: n/a
Instagram: @whipperton

About the Artist

Kristi Jenson is currently a senior at csulb and is only one semester away from graduating! She is presently enrolled in the metals and jewelry BFA program. He interests include sculpting, which is seen in her art. She also enjoys breaking bad and getting tattoos- she currently has 8 of them. Her artwork expresses the idea of form, working with something seemingly rigid and rough and turing it into something new, something fluid.

Formal Analysis

The piece of Kristi’s I observed is untitled however, it has adopted the nickname “onion” given the resemblance it has with the vegetable. The sculpture was made with steel. It is dark in color, almost a chocolate brown. Flattened strips of inch wide steel make up a majority of the piece with a couple of circular pieces put in for stability. Its very bulbous in shape. Long uniform curves. Very similar to a vase. I would describe it as smooth. The piece also has reflectional symmetry, which means it can be folded across its axis and still retain the same shape.

Content Analysis

I think the piece is about, as I stated earlier, changing something the is hard and stiff and simply giving it a new shape. The sculpture also reminded me of a bird cage. Many people go through life feeling trapped, whether it be in a dead end job or in a shitty relationship, and this piece resonates with that kind of feeling.  I also like the idea that this kind of work can just look aesthetically pleasing for no real reason. It reflects a familiar shape though a different medium and is interesting to look at.

Synthesis / My Experience

For me, this expeience was great. The work reminded me of something old and something cherished. I felt like I was in a museum looking at pieces made a long time ago. I guess thats what i love about art. How it can be timeless and seemingly belong anywhere. I have never given much thought to sculpture but I think it really resonated with me. I also think the only reason I saw a cage in this work is because maybe I feel trapped. It kind of scares me but is also reassuring in the fact that now I am aware of this sentiment I have. This is just a testimont to how past experiences and even current ones can shape and the way you look at things.

Leave a Reply

